Drivers who are involved in a motor vehicle accident may need to undergo drug or alcohol tests to determine if this was a factor in the accident. If the court orders a driver to complete a DUI or DWI class, it is normally an integral part of other penalties. It is very important for the driver to complete the classes, which is often a necessary step in the process of reinstating the license to drive. Some judges will order the driver to complete DUI or DWI training, and this is often used in conjunction with other penalties.
According to the DMV, the limit for alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent BAC. Any amount of alcohol above this limit may result in various penalties, and one of them could be attendance in DUI or DWI classes. Some of these classes are mandatory for individuals facing state courts or penalties imposed by the DMV. These classes require the attendee to pay for the service, find transportation to the class and find the time to complete the courses.
There are differences between the states, so it is important to contact the appropriate provider of DUI and DWI services as soon as possible. For example, many states require mandatory treatment in addition to educational classes. However, states may require either one or the other, none or both. For example, states like Idaho, Maryland, Nebraska, and D.C. do not require the driver to take these classes automatically.
Classes for individuals involved in a DUI or DWI are available through driving schools or the DMV. Private companies may offer classes varying in length, and the only way to know exactly how long it will take is to contact them directly. One company offers an online course that takes 12.5 hours to complete, for example. Many live classes are a few hours long, and the total amount of time available to complete the courses are set by the court. There may be one to three months available to finish the DWI or DUI classes, and driving privileges may be reinstated after completing the courses.