Being pulled over and arrested for a DUI is a serious offense that may result in a number of severe penalties. Even if it is only your first offense, you will be facing a serious charge that could have severe repercussions on your life for at least several years to come. This is not a charge that you want to treat with anything less than total seriousness. If you are facing a DUI trial, or simply want to educate yourself on all of the possible penalties involved, please have a look at this handy FAQ.
How long can you go to jail for drunk driving?
The length of time you can be sentenced to prison for a drunk driving conviction depends on a number of factors. These include whether or not this is your first offense, whether you caused damage to property, and whether or not an accident that you were responsible for resulted in injuries or fatalities. At the moment, you can be sentenced to up to six months in prison for a DUI conviction in every state. This does not mean that this will automatically happen. In most first offense cases, you will normally be given a fine and a length of time on probation. However, the option for prison time exists in every state.
Is drunk driving a felony?
Most DUI offenses, especially first offenses, are considered to be misdemeanors. However, there are certain circumstances under which a DUI can become a felony. If you have prior DUI or DWI convictions, a further arrest will result in a felony case. If other people were injured or killed as a result of an accident you caused, this will raise the level of your case from a misdemeanor to a felony. If you were arrested for DUI while driving with a suspended license, this can also raise your case to the felony level.
Is a second DUI a felony?
In many states, a second DUI will automatically result in a felony case. The number of DUI convictions it takes to reach the felony level will depend on the state you are arrested in. In some states, it may take until the third or fourth DUI conviction to reach the felony level. However, in all states, a second DUI conviction results in significantly higher penalties – such as higher fines and a longer suspension of your driver’s license – that you must pay, regardless of whether or not you are charged with a felony.
Is your license suspended immediately after a DUI?
In many states, the officer who arrests you will give you a DUI citation, which temporarily takes the place of your driver’s license. This citation gives you the privilege of driving for 10 days. However, the officer may also choose to impound your vehicle for 10 days. If you are ultimately convicted of a DUI and this is your first offense, your license may be suspended for a period of six months. If this is not your first offense, or if there are injuries or fatalities involved, your license may be suspended for a longer period of time or even permanently revoked.
Is drunk driving a criminal offense?
A few states, such as New Jersey and Wisconsin, do not consider DUI or DWI as a criminal offense. However, even in these states, you will still face considerable penalties, such as heavy fines and the suspension or permanent loss of your driver’s license. In all other states, DUI and DWI are definitely considered to be legitimate criminal offenses. A DUI or DWI conviction will carry with it severe penalties that could affect the quality of your life for several years to come.
What happens when you get a DUI for the first time?
In most cases, when you get a DUI for the first time, you will be charged with a misdemeanor offense. You can receive up to six months in prison although, in most cases, you are more likely to receive mandatory probation or counseling. You may also be sentenced to pay a fine, complete a number of state-mandated community hours, and receive a suspension of your license for a court-mandated the amount of time.
How long do you get your license suspended for a DUI?
If this is your first conviction for a DUI, your driver’s license may be suspended for a period of six months. If this is not your first offense, if there is property damage that you were the cause of, or if there are injuries or fatalities involved, your license may be suspended for a longer period of time. It may even be permanently revoked. If you are convicted of a second DUI, the suspension of your license may last for up to five years, especially if this second offense came within five years of your first conviction.
How much does it cost for a DUI?
It is not really possible to give a “one size fits all” answer to the question of just how much a DUI conviction will cost you. However, in most states, you can expect to have your vehicle impounded for a period of 10 days. Depending on the fees the impound lot charges, you can expect to pay at least $1,000. There is also the matter of the amount you will need to pay to your DUI attorney. Depending on the amount you agree on, you may expect to pay them anywhere from $1,000 to $4,000.
You may be required to take special DUI classes, which may run anywhere from $500 to $1,000. The average DMV fee for the reinstatement of your license is $100. Finally, you will need to consider the long-term increase that will occur when your insurance rates go up. Depending on what the penalties are in this case, you may ultimately be forced to pay anywhere from $10,000 to $40,000 over a period of up to 13 years.
Do you get put on probation for a DUI?
If this is your first conviction for a DUI, you can normally expect to be put on probation for a specified period of time. In most states, the length of your probation will be six months. It should be pointed out that, in some states, you may still be sentenced to serve a short amount of prison time, especially if the circumstances surrounding your offense were especially serious. However, if this is not the case, you can generally expect to serve a specified amount of time on probation, usually accompanied by required attendance at DUI classes and a fine.
How Soon Should You Hire a DUI Lawyer?
If you are facing DUI charges, it’s an excellent idea to hire a DUI lawyer immediately. This is not an area in which you will be qualified to act in your own defense. Your best bet for a positive outcome in your case is to engage the services of a qualified legal professional. A DUI lawyer can help you collect and organize all of the material you need to make use of in order to present your case in the best possible light. They can also determine if the case against you is weak enough to warrant a serious reduction or even dismissal of the charges. The time to hire a lawyer is now.
How to Hire a DUI Lawyer
You can contact us at any time to arrange for a free consultation concerning your case. We will be happy to review your case and give you an honest opinion on your chances of getting the charges reduced or dismissed. We will also give you an honest and accurate quote concerning the cost of representing you at your DUI trial. Feel free to get in touch today in order to learn more about what we can do on your behalf.