Driving while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol is a grave threat to public safety in Wyoming. To minimize the number of offenses involving driving under the influence, state lawmakers utilize a series of laws to punish motorists who drive after taking drugs or drinking alcohol.
People who plan on driving in Wyoming are encouraged to learn about the allowable blood alcohol content levels in this state. They also need to be familiar with what kinds of penalties that they can face if they are charged with and found guilty of DUI in Wyoming.
DUI in Wyoming
Like many states, Wyoming uses a per se standard when it comes to defining driving under the influence. This per se level is 0.08 percent or higher. Motorists over the age of 21 who drive with a BAC at or above this level can be arrested for and charged with a DUI.
Drivers who are younger than 21 must abide by a stricter limit on their BACs. They cannot drive with a BAC level that is greater than 0.02 percent if they want to avoid being arrested for DUI in Wyoming
Commercial drivers are held to the federal standard that is uniform in every state in the U.S. Holders of CDLs can be arrested for and charged with DUI in Wyoming if they have BACs at or above 0.04 percent.
The definition of driving under the influence does not only extend to driving after drinking. It also is defined as operating a motor vehicle, including one used for recreational purposes like a moped or motor boat, while under the influence of any controlled substance.
DUI Penalties in Wyoming
The penalties that a driver can face for DUI depend largely on the person’s prior DUI history. They also rely on the BAC level at the time of the person’s arrest.
A first-time DUI conviction in Wyoming results in penalties like up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $750, and up to 90 days’ license suspension. The offender will also have to use an ignition interlock device on his or her vehicle for up to six months if his or her BAC was at or above 0.15 percent.
A second DUI offense in the state leads to seven days to six months in jail, a fine of $200 to $750, and a license suspension of one year. The person will also have to use an IID on his or her vehicle after the license is reinstated.
A third DUI in Wyoming gets penalties like 30 days to six months in jail, a fine of $750 to $3000, and a license suspension of three years. The offender will also have to use an IID for two years.
All DUI offenders in Wyoming are required to take part in a substance abuse assessment. The results of this assessment will determine whether or not the court orders offenders to go through drug or alcohol abuse treatment. Judges in Wyoming can also sentence offenders to up to three years of probation.
Some DUI offenders in Wyoming can be eligible to have their jail time or IID use waived in favor of completing a 24/7 substance abuse program. The program must provide around-the-clock supervision for DUI offenders to ensure that they do not lapse back into substance or alcohol abuse. Third-time DUI offenders can also have 15 days taken off their jail sentences for completing this program.
People who commit aggravated DUI in Wyoming generally do not get their sentences waived or reduced. An aggravated DUI occurs when the driver causes bodily injury or death to another person.
It is charged as a felony and carries with it harsher penalties for a first-time conviction like up to $5000 in fines, a three-year license revocation and up to 10 years in jail. A second aggravated DUI results in the same penalties except the prison term increases to 20 years.
Underage Age DUI in Wyoming
Drivers who are younger than 21 are held to the same legal standard as adult drivers when it comes to operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated. They can be arrested for and charged with DUI if their BACs are 0.02 percent to 0.08 percent.
The penalties for a first-time underage DUI in Wyoming include fines of up to $750 and a 90-day license suspension. An underage driver convicted of a second DUI in Wyoming can incur penalties like a six-month license suspension, a fine of $750, 30 days in jail and use of an ignition interlock device or IID for one year. For a third underage DUI in Wyoming, the penalties remain the same except for the use of an IID, which is increased to two years, and the jail sentence, which goes up to six months.
Wyoming relies on strict DUI laws to protect the public from inebriated drivers. Motorists who engage in this crime can face a series of punishments ranging from steep fines to time served in jail. They can also lose their licenses for months or years and be ordered to use an ignition interlock device at their own expense on all of their vehicles.